When a board is published the new revised board becomes visible to the users that  are shared the board.

When you see a flat publish button, the board you see is the live version.

When you see PUBLISH or PUBLISH CHANGES green button, there are un-published changes on the board that end-users might not see until you click PUBLISH / PUBLISH CHANGE.